بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمٰنِ الرَّحِيْمِ


Author: NIHT Media

The following letter was received from MARS in response to an email being circulated which claims that a red dot in a square on the packaging of Mars Chocolate bars indicate that it contains gelatine which is derived from Pork. See their response hereunder to Adnaan Gabru of the NIHT.

28 February 2012

Att: Adnaan Gabru

                    National Independent Halaal Trust (NIHT)  

Subject: Red dot on Mars chocolate

Dear Adnaan,

Thank you for bringing this communication to our attention. As an organisation, we strive to ensure that all Mars products comply with the legal and cultural norms of all the markets where we operate.

Mars products, including Snickers®, Twix®, Bounty® and Mars® bars do not contain pork nor pork derivatives. Mars products are exported to a number of markets including South Africa and India. The red dot that may appear on some of our packaging is a legal requirement for the India Market. It indicates that the product may contain egg, which is not suitable for some vegetarians in India.

In South Africa we also receive product with the Green Dot and Brown Dot for the following products:

1) Bounty® Bar has a Green Dot – it means that a vegan can eat this products.

2) Snickers® Bar has a Brown Dot – it means that the product contains animal products like egg and milk products.

We have attached the Halaal certification from our manufacturing facility and we hope this will to give you and our consumers the confidence to enjoy our brands. Please feel free to contact us anytime, should you require more information.


Lillian Henderson

Marketing Director Chocolate Division

Article first published : 28/02/2012

Leave a Comment